Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale hails from Cincinnati’s Over-the-Rhine (OTR) neighborhood.

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

By Bill Lau | Potable Pastime

English-style India Pale Ale, 6.5% ABV, 45 IBU, brewed with floor-malted English malt and Styrian Golding hops
Northern Row Brewery, Cincinnati, OH

OK. I admit it. I picked this one out because of the name. I mean, how can you resist? So points (to Gryffindor?) for making me smile and chuckle out loud.

Then I saw it said “English-style India Pale Ale”, and I was fully on board.

I’m always up for English and English-style ales and on the lookout for examples from the many local and regional craft breweries. I’ve enjoyed a few Milds here in Cincinnati and in Centerville in the Dayton area. Bitters are still quite rare, sadly.

English-style IPAs are especially welcome. I still love American IPAs, but it’s nice to get a different flavor profile as a change of pace from the classic West Coast hop profile. English hops bring a whole different attitude to the party. And those English malts add a particular signature to the flavor profile as well.

So here we have another Cincinnati area brewery offering in the range of traditional English ale styles. I’m stoked – cheers!

Check out these reviews of some other English and English-style ales:

Samuel Smith’s Nut Brown Ale

Samuel Smith’s Nut Brown Ale is fermented in the legendary stone “Yorkshire Squares”.

Samuel Smith’s Nut Brown Ale

Fuller’s London Pride

Fuller’s London Pride is a classic London ale brewed beside the Thames since 1845.

Fuller’s London Pride

Boddingtons Pub Ale

Boddingtons Pub Ale is a classic English pale ale served as close to draught as possible from a can.

Boddingtons Pub Ale

Brink Hold the Reins English Mild

Brink Hold the Reins English Mild is an award-winning session beer.

Brink Hold the Reins English Mild

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

Impressions:

I had set the can out to de-chill a little before opening. When I did pop the top open, it foamed out unexpectedly. Fortunately, only a teensy amount ended up on the counter. (These things happen now and then.)

Pours out a lovely coppery-orange hue topped with a thick head of cream-colored, dense foam. It does, however, lack the crystal clarity one expects from an English-style ale. Instead, it has a decided haze.

Aroma is on the more subtle side compared to its American-style kin. I get some enticing floral notes with some grassiness and a light fuitiness mixed in. Very appealing!

First sip – yum! Tangy, with bitter orange peel and marmalade on the palate. Bright and fresh, and very much in character. Backed by honeyish and crackery malt with a touch of golden syrup. (If you’ve ever tried Lyle’s, you know that wonderful, rich caramel-toffee note I’m referring to.) This is subtle, but it’s there, and it adds depth and complexity.

This is fantastic! Reminds me of an English craft IPA I had some years back. I could easily knock back a few pints of this. Leaves some nice foam sheeting behind as I drink it down.

Northern Row Wanker English Style India Pale Ale

Disclosure: The author has received no reimbursement or compensation for this article. All opinions and remarks are those of the author alone.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.