Abita Mardi Gras Bock

What could be more appropriate for Mardi Gras than a bock beer brewed in Louisiana?

Abita Mardi Gras Bock

By Bill Lau | Potable Pastime

6.5% ABV, 25 IBU maibock, brewed with pale, pilsner, & caramel malts & German Perle hops.

Abita Brewing Co., Abita Springs, LA

I’m reverting back to an earlier format with this post; more stream-of-consciousness impressions and review, and no rating scores. I figure there are plenty of sites with rated reviews, and this quite frankly offers me more room to wax poetic, as it were. I’d be interested to hear if readers have a preference.

To be completely up front and honest, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect here. I hoped for something reasonably authentic, but for some reason retained a bit of skepticism. Can’t really say why; I’ve tried a few Abita offerings before, and have a generally positive impression of their beers. Maybe it’s my experience with some previous bock beers from various producers that have failed to fully live up to my expectations. While ales are my main squeeze, so to speak, I reserve a special place in my heart for well-made, flavorful lagers. It’s part of my heritage, in my mind. I have both German and Bohemian ancestry, and those are some powerful, tasty lager roots.

Pours out a bright, beautiful orangey-copper hue, topped with a head of pale beige foam. The aroma sings to me of malt – toasty, caramelized, with an almost juicy note. It explodes on the palate with luscious malt, bringing flavor notes as promised, toasty and caramelized, a light sweetness balanced by some drying bitterness that arrives midway through. I appreciate that blast of malty flavor without being that sweet. It’s smooth and quite drinkable, with an authentic character showing evidence of Munich malt flavor. Body is appropriate to style; perhaps on the lighter side of it, but appropriate. Leaves behind a gently fading bitterness. Pairs beautifully with my wife’s delicious Sausage & Chicken Leg Gumbo (hey, it must be that Louisiana connection!); would be equally at home with German schnitzel or a wurst plate.

Disclosure: The author has received no reimbursement or compensation for this article. All opinions and remarks are those of the author alone.

Leave a Reply

