Hurricane Redux

The Hurricane cocktail features a goodly dose of dark rum.

By Bill Lau

Posted January 30, 2016

I’ve visited this cocktail before (see here), but not quite to the original recipe (I couldn’t get passionfruit syrup so had to resort to passionfruit cocktail, and used golden rum instead of dark). Even so, my wife Sue of A Palatable Pastime and I both really enjoyed them while watching the Oscars that year. So much so that I still only have some fragmented memory of that night…Ellen DeGeneres hosting…Cate Blanchett cracking on Sandra Bullock…trying to watch Best Picture winner “Twelve Years a Slave” afterwards streaming only to have repeated buffering issues (thanks, condo cable provider!)…anyway, the drinks went down really easy, I kept mixing them up, and we kept knocking them down. And woke up the next day still buzzed (4 ounces of rum per drink will do that – oy!). But I digress.

Oddly enough, I’ve maintained a discreet distance (like a couple hundred light years!) from this drink since March of 2014. However, as we rapidly approach Mardi Gras 2016, it seems apropos to finally revisit the drink, but this time we’re going with my favorite dark rum and using a recommendation I picked up from Beachbum Berry Remixed, an excellent collection of Tiki drink recipes, history, and lore; namely, using passionfruit pulp instead of syrup. You should be able to find this in the freezer section of a Hispanic grocer along with many other fruit varieties. I highly recommend it!

I have made one adjustment to the recipe due to using the passionfruit pulp – since it’s unsweetened and rather a bit tart, I’m calling for some simple syrup (or Splenda syrup, if like us you’re trying to shave a few calories off but still indulge in the occasional cocktail) to balance things back out.

This makes a potent, tasty, and really enjoyable cocktail. I do hope you enjoy!

Oh, and I’m only drinking one this time!

Ingredients:
4 oz dark rum (Blackwell’s is my personal fave)
2 oz lemon juice (fresh squeezed only, please!)
2 oz passionfruit pulp (Goya brand is what’s available in my area – just thaw, use what you need, and save the rest in the fridge)
1 1/2 oz simple* or Splenda syrup (adjust to taste – this worked just right for us)

Procedure:
Shake all ingredients with ice & pour into a Hurricane glass.
Garnish with an orange wheel , or half orange wheel and cherry (flag) if desired.

*Simple syrup can be made easily by mixing equal parts water and sugar, heating to a boil while stirring to dissolve the sugar, reducing heat and simmering for 3-5 minutes. Just let cool and use as called for.

Disclaimer: This a non-sponsored post. Brands referenced at the author’s preference and/or discretion.

Leave a Reply

