GinFlower and Tonic

A most tasty variation on the classic gin & tonic, featuring elderflower liqueur.

GinFlower and Tonic

By Bill Lau

Posted August 5, 2014

My wife and I recently enjoyed the Sunday brunch at The Grand Finale in Glendale, Ohio as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations, where I tried a Flower Fizz cocktail, made with champagne, gin, and elderflower liqueur. (Seriously now, who invented this stuff? It’s bloody brilliant!) I thoroughly enjoyed the sublime combination of flavors, and thoughts of recreating it at home and posting the recipe immediately sprang up.

In the mood for such a drink today and finding we have no small bottles of champagne on hand (and not wanting to waste any of the precious nectar), I sought some suitable alternative. Remembering we had tonic water chilling out in the fridge, my brain latched onto the idea of adding the liqueur to the old tried-and-true gin & tonic. A quick search of the interwebs turned up several recipes along the lines of what I wanted; from there, it became a simple matter of trying the most likely ratio and tweaking for my palate.

Now I started with 1/2 oz of St Germain and found that it favored the gin a little more than I wanted; turned out 3/4 oz worked best for me, bringing out the preferred balance of gin and elderflower. I had intended to see if the ideal amount of tonic was 3.0 or 3.5 oz, but my glass only (barely!) held 3 ounces, and, let me be frank here, I was too damn lazy to go switch glasses at this point, so 3 ounces it is!

Voila! You now have my version of what I’m calling a GinFlower and Tonic. Cheers!

GinFlower and Tonic ingredients

Ingredients:
1.5 oz dry gin (I happened to have Death’s Door * on hand; I also love Bluecoat and Bombay Sapphire)
0.75 oz St Germain (or other elderflower liqueur)
3.0 oz good tonic water (I prefer Fever-Tree)
Lime wedge

Procedure:
Fill a rocks glass or stemless Martini glass with ice.
Pour in the gin, elderflower liqueur, and tonic water.
Squeeze the lime juice on top.
Serve and enjoy!

*Death’s Door hails from Washington Island in my native land of Wisconsin; you can take the boy out of Wisconsin, but you can’t Wisconsin out of the boy!

GinFlower and Tonic

Disclosure: The author has received no reimbursement or compensation for this article. All brand recommendations are purely the preference of the author alone.

4 thoughts on “GinFlower and Tonic

  1. I’ve been on a G&T kick lately, trying different gins and garnishes… And I recently picked up St. Germain on a (rather expensive) whim. This is nothing short of serendipitous!

Leave a Reply

