Bahama Mama

Bahama Mama

Tiki cocktail (or boat drink if you prefer) of enigmatic origin.

By Bill Lau

Posted June 14, 2015

Unlike some well-known cocktails whose origins are disputed (the Margarita and Mai Tai both come to mind), I found no clear claim to the origin of this delightful drink. There seem to be several different versions out there in Mixologyland, although the ones I found the most either utilize the ingredients in this recipe or else employ crème de banane (or banana) liqueur instead of coffee liqueur. What I find most interesting, however, is the flavor profile of this particular recipe. Because when I mixed it up and took a sip, my initial reaction was to think it tasted like it had banana liqueur in it.

Fascinating.

Makes one wonder. Perhaps this is a more “original” formulation, and those other recipes were attempting to deconstruct (or reverse engineer if you will) the ingredients based on taste. But it’s not intuitively obvious, is it? In any case, I found this to be quite tasty.

So mix up a couple to share and sip on a patio while imagining a lush, tropical breeze carrying the sound of waves washing ashore nearby. Assuming, of course, that you’re far removed from the beach, like I am, and unable to experience that for real. (If you are so fortunate to experience that for real, dig those toes into the sand and and carry on. And don’t forget your sunscreen!).

Bahama Mama

INGREDIENTS

1/2 oz dark rum (I used Blackwell; Appleton Estate Reserve is also excellent)
1/2 oz coconut rum (I used Cruzan) or coconut liqueur
1/4 oz coffee liqueur (I used Kahlua)
1/4 oz 151 rum (I hear Lemon Hart is great but can’t get it in my area, so used Bacardi)
1/2 oz lemon juice (~1/2 lemon)
4 oz pineapple juice

PROCEDURE

Shake all ingredients with a cup of ice cubes and serve in a Collins or Hurricane glass. Garnish with a lemon wheel Alternatively, if you don’t like the way the drink foams up due to the pineapple juice, you could stir the ingredients together and pour over cracked ice in your glass of choice.

Enjoy! And feel free to leave a comment letting me know what you think.

3 thoughts on “Bahama Mama

  1. This always reminds me of our cruises. I’ve never had a Bahama Mama before, but I’ll definitely be trying this out on our next cruise!! Thanks for linking up as always! Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

