Bloody Maria

My interpretation of the tequila-based variant of the classic Bloody Mary, with a unique twist (or two).

Bloody Maria – with a twist (or 2)!

Don’t skimp on the garnishes! Those peppers (and some celery & olive) are the perfect foils to this one.

By Bill Lau

Posted September 12, 2014

OK, so I admit I was late to the party on the whole Sunday Bloody Mary thing. Perhaps my palate has changed over time, or maybe I just wasn’t impressed by the first one I tasted years ago. Recently though, something just clicked for me. I was enjoying a Mexican-influenced Sunday brunch and had ordered a Bloody Maria to drink; I am an avid tequila aficionado, after all. The way the flavors blended together really hit the spot. I suddenly understood what all the hubbub is about. The following weekend I went to create my own version at home and stumbled into two choices that ended up putting the whole thing way over the top for me.

First, we just happened to have a bottle of Spicy V8 sitting around (probably purchased on sale or possibly even having been a free item, I can’t quite recall), so I thought I’d just use that instead of running out special for tomato juice. It’s going to be spicy anyway, I figured, and I do like spicy. But the second variation on the traditional recipe truly came flying out of left field. I had planned to swap out the usual lemon juice with lime juice, since lime pairs so wonderfully with tequila. But as I was gathering my ingredients, my wife Sue (of palatablepastime.com) was fixing some lunch; she had just dumped some sauerkraut into a strainer to drain off the brine, and when I noticed, I said simply “I hope you saved the juice for me”, as I have sometimes been known to enjoy a small glass of kraut juice (I blame my mom) (no I don’t, I thank her!). She hadn’t, but managed to catch the last bit before it had drained fully. It was then that inspiration hit. Lemon (or lime) adds a refreshing sour component to the drink. Well, so would kraut juice! It might even be right at home with all the other veggies in the V8, too. It was just crazy enough that it might work.

The rest as they say is history. I made it again, using the single serving cans of Spicy V8 and Frank’s kraut juice this time, and have put the recipe into my stable of tried and trusted cocktail recipes. And although it has become my new Sunday tradition, it’s welcome any time.

I hope you enjoy my twist(s) on the recipe. (If you can’t find the canned kraut juice, draining the juice off of some sauerkraut still works just fine.)

Ingredients
2 & 1/2 – 3 oz silver (blanco) tequila
1 – 5.5 oz can Spicy Hot V8
2 oz Frank’s kraut juice
¼ – ½ tsp Worcestershire sauce
½ – ¾ tsp hot sauce of your choice (if desired)
Celery salt – to taste
Finely ground black pepper – to taste

Method
Shake all ingredients with ice and serve. Garnish with a celery spear, pimento-stuffed olive, and pickled hot peppers (I use Hot Chili Peppers from Mezzetta – my goodness, I love those!).

Come git some!

3 thoughts on “Bloody Maria

Leave a Reply

