Mojito

My favorite version of the classic rum-mint-and-lime cocktail.

Mojito

See my Basic Cocktail Making Guidelines post. Trust me, you’ll be glad you did!

My first exposure to this classic cocktail was when my wife ordered one at the Bahama Breeze that used to be in Springdale, Ohio some years back, and kindly offered me a taste. I fell in love immediately, and added the drink to my repertoire as a home bartender. I quite like cocktails made from rum (oh, we’re gonna have fun with the tiki drinks in the future!), and also love lime and fresh mint, so it makes absolute perfect sense that I’d like the drink. Why it took me so long to discover it is beyond me. At any rate, I find it to be refreshing and delicious.

Mojito Pre-Constructed

Ingredients

3 oz light rum (I like Sammy’s Beach Bar Rum)

Juice of 1 lime

1 & 1/2 – 2 Tbs caster sugar (depends on your preferences and how tart your lime is)

3 – 6 oz club soda

Several sprigs fresh mint

Ice

Method

Muddle 2 sprigs of mint with the sugar in the bottom of a cocktail shaker or large glass. You want to release the mint’s natural oils, but not completely annihilate it.

Add the rum and lime juice, and stir until the sugar is dissolved; take a sip to check the tartness and adjust to taste with sugar if needed.

Fill a large tumbler with ice cubes and the other sprig of mint.

Add the combined rum-lime juice-mint-sugar to the tumbler.

Top up with desired amount of club soda – you can adjust how potent the drink tastes.

Add a natural sugar cane swizzle stick for that finishing touch. Plus it’s fun to chew the juices out of it! (Word of caution – the sticks are not edible after you’ve extracted the sweet juice.)

You can use a sugar substitute if desired – the more granulated it is, the better it will muddle.

Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Mojito

  1. I want so badly to love mojitos. My husband really likes them but I can’t get over the leaves that get stuck in my throat after a good straw pull. I’ll be saving this one for him, though.

  2. Yum – you can never go wrong with a classic mojito, and the mint here looks particularly fresh! We’re hosting our monthly cocktail link-up next Tuesday and would love for you to share this awesome recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

