“Brewed with copious amounts of pungent hops”, 7% ABV

Mystic Mama IPA

Brewed by Jackie O’s Pub & Brewery, Athens, OH

By Bill Lau

Posted 6/24/2014

First off, I must say that I really love the artwork on the can (see pic at bottom of post)! I think it’s awesome. And it seems fitting for a brewery located in tiny Athens, OH, home of Ohio University (and the Bobcats), and not far south of the Wayne National Forest. This is a beautiful part of the state, to be sure. I have not visited the pub itself, but it’s definitely on my wish list for summer day trips!

Secondly, cans and craft beer have become fast friends here, and I’ve had no issues with them whatsoever. These are not your father’s beer cans. No metallic taste or off flavors whatsoever. (Heck, if I could can my homebrew at this point, I would!)

Mystic Mama poured out the color of orange blossom honey with a hop haze. The short-lived pale beige head settled to a thin layer and collar.

I noted orange oil, some grapefruit, and a general citrus zest note in the aroma.

The texture was creamy with very fine carbonation effervescence. It left a light oiliness and tongue-coating velvet mouthfeel.

Flavors started with tangy citrus hoppiness, but not overpowering. It started soft and built gradually. A firm bitterness appeared seamlessly. Another sip revealed some delightful caramel malt in the background. The finish brought a crispness with some sticky hop resin on the tongue. Seductive brew that got better with each taste. I was prepared to be blown away by hops up front, yet Mystic Mama out-foxed me and brought a steady build-up, finishing very nicely. Well done.

Rating:     Appearance: 4/5     Aroma: 7/10     Palate: 5/5     Flavor: 9/10     Overall: 16.5/20

Awesome artwork!

Also see my previous review of Jackie O’s Hop Ryot Rye IPA.

