World Beer Expo 2013 IPA Gold Medal winner. 6.0% ABV

Finch’s Threadless IPA

Finch’s Beer Co., Chicago, IL

This was another draught offering at Django Western Taco in Northside, OH, not far from downtown Cincinnati. I love their homestyle, diner-esque take on Mexican dishes. (For the record, the fried shrimp tacos with spinach, sweet chili sauce, and goat cheese are TDF; the flank steak is also simply amazing, as my wife will readily confirm!) I also love that they always have good beer offerings on tap.

I hadn’t heard of Finch’s prior to ordering this beer; but I do enjoy trying new beers, and a sample taste of this IPA quickly convinced me to have a pint with my lunch of 2 tacos, 1 fish and 1 shrimp, and the complementary chips (dusted with an addictive house-made seasoning) with house salsas – sweetish tomatillo-based and spicy smoked habañero.

Threadless IPA came out in a standard pub pint glass glowing a hazy, golden orange in color with a cream colored head.

Aromas of mandarins and floral hops wafted from the glass. So far, so good!

Texture was creamy with light carbonation, resulting in a medium body.

The flavor of mandarins came through up front, with a moderate bitterness, then caramel malt. Pine and resin notes followed. Balanced IPA, but still packing enough hop flavor to please. Very good beer, and very food-friendly. Left some nice lacing on the glass.

Can’t wait to see what they have for me to try next time I visit! (And that flank steak awaits – those teasing tastes my wife offered made me a believer!)

